Bodies and Administration of the Tyrolean Private University UMIT TIROL

Legal Entity

The legal entity of the academic educational institution is the Tyrolean Private University UMIT GmbH which is 90% owned by the Tyrolean Federal Government and 10% owned by the Leopold-Franzens-University (LFU) in Innsbruck, Austria. The bodies of this company are two Managing Directors, the Supervisory Board and the General Assembly.

Organizational Structure of the Tyrolean Private University UMIT TIROL


The highest bodies of the university are the Scientific Advisory Council, the Rectorate and the Senate. The university is divided into four departments:

  • Biomedical Informatics and Mechatronics
  • Public Health, Healthcare Research and Health Technology Assessment
  • Nursing Science and Gerontology
  • Psychology and Medical Sciences

The Executive Board/ the Rectorate is supported in its work by the staff units for quality development and accreditation affairs, legal counselling and project management, corporate communication, university didactics, staff administration and medical school, as well as by the study management office and the departments for marketing and fundraising as well as financial management.